Tajikistan Regions (Areas)

Map Areas of Tajikistan

Map Areas of Tajikistan

Tajikistan is divided into 3 – areas including Khatlon, Sughd, Badakhshan and one territorial region by name Districts of Republican Subordination.
The largest area of Badakhshan of Tajikistan is inhabited – Khatlon and developed – Sughd. The capital of Tajikistan Dushanbe, which is divided into 4-region part of the DRS.
In history, the regional division of the territory of Tajikistan was introduced 27.10.1939, and in that moment it was formed Garm, Kulyab, Leninabad and Stalinabad area.

Khatlon Province:
Khatlon Province:



Khatlon region (abbreviated Xatlon) – one of the most populated and irrigated areas of Tajikistan is located in the southwestern part of the country with a population of 2.98 million people, representing 35% of the population of RT..

Formed on December 2nd, 1992, and the administrative center of Khatlon region is the city of Qurghonteppa. The composition of the Khatlon region consists of 5 cities and 19 regions including: Kurgantyube, Kulyab, of Yavan, Nurek, Sarband, areas Abdurahmoni Jami Baldzhuvan, Bohtar, Vakhsh, Vose, Dangara, Kabadiyan, Kalhazabad, Mir Said Alii Hamadoni, Kumsangir, Muminobod, Nosiri Khusrav, Panj, Temurmalik, Farkhar, Hovaling Khuroson, Shahritus and Shuraabad.

The share of the Tajik people of Khatlon region is equal to almost 80% of the population of the region and then Uzbeks make up a significant proportion of nationality who live mainly western part of the region.

Irrigated land Khatlon amount to 338 thousand. Hectares equivalent to 45% of the irrigated land in Tajikistan, rain-fed land 2.12 million. Hectares of gardens 22.5 thousand. Hectares of vineyards 8.2 thousand. Ha., Meadows 1.2 million. Ha. , housing 16.8 thousand. ha., backyard 86 thousand. ha. and 400 hectares of saplings.

Khatlon region is famous for its high quality cotton, early watermelons, melons, onions, a cement plant, the Nurek, Chemistry Works, the Javan and Sarband, Vakhsh River, a seating area Chiluchorchashma, historical places like Vose, Kurgantyube who were ancient cities with thousands of years of history.

 Sughd Province

Sughd region (abbreviated or Tajik Sughd “Suғd”) – one of the most developed regions of Tajikistan, located in the northern part of the country with a population of 2.35 million people, representing 35% of the population of RT..

Map Sughd

Map Sughd

It was formed on 10 November 2000 (previously, the 10/27/1939 as the Leninabad) and the administrative center of Sughd region is the city of Khujand. The composition of the Sogd region consists of 8 cities and 10 regions including the city Khujand, Kayrokum, Taboshar, Chkalov, Istaravshan, Penjikent, Kanibadam, Isfara and Ayni Asht, Ganci, Zafarabad, Maschtoi Kuhi, Spitamen, Mastcha, Jabor Rasulov, B . Gafurov.

Irrigated land Sogd up 286.4 thous. Hectares equivalent to 38% of the irrigated land in Tajikistan, dry lands 2.2 million. Hectares of gardens 50,8 thous. Ha, vineyards 11 thous. Ha., Meadows 787 thousand. Ha., Housing 10,8 thous. ha., backyard 57 thousand. ha. and seedlings for 59 hectares.

Sughd region known for its hard-working, intelligent and decent population who grow the best crops as apricot, fig, and build houses in the traditional style of wood. In Sughd are such important objects as uranium deposit, Kayrakum reservoir, river Syrdarya, textile enterprise Spitamen, gold mining plant, plant Konimansur, Sanatorium Bakhoriston, historic city Istravshan.

Gorno-Badakhshan Autonomous Region


Gorno Badakhshan Autonomous Region (GBAO abbreviated or Tajik “VMKB”) – one of the most mountainous, sparsely populated, underdeveloped and large areas of Tajikistan is located in the eastern part of the country with a population of 226 thousand people, which is only lisch 2.7% of the population..

GBAO formed on January 2, 1925 the administrative center of the region is the city of Khorog. The composition of GBAO includes 1 city and 7 districts including Khorog and districts Vanj, Ishkashim, Murghab, Roshtkala, Darwaz and Rushan Shugnan.

Irrigated land GBAO up 17.7 thousand. Hectares, which equals 2.4% of the irrigated land in Tajikistan, dry lands 6.4 million. Hectares of gardens 1.1 thousand. Hectares of vineyards 1 thousand. Ha., Meadows 757 thousand. Ha ., housing 1.2 thousand. ha., backyard 4.7 thousand. ha. and seedlings for 75 hectares.

Badakhshan region of highlands known for its peculiar dialect, precious stones, expensive in China and resort Garmchashma. Economic and social life in GBAO is underdeveloped due to the mountainous terrain and lack of resources, including irrigated land, labor force and communicatively location.

Districts of Republican Subordination


Districts of Republican Subordination (abbreviated – DRS) – This is the land and the administrative area is located in the geographical center of the Republic of Tajikistan in the territory of which includes 13 districts including 3 city, is divided into 2 valleys (Gissar and Rasht) with a population of 1.9 million people and a territory 29. 8 thousand sq. km., has officially formed March 29, 1932 without the empowerment of the regional administration.
From the west border with Uzbekistan, in the south – Khatlon region as well as with Afghanistan, with the northern part of the RRS is Sughd region of Tajikistan and the border with the Republic of Kyrgyzstan, and from the east to the area of ​​Gorno Badakhshan of Tajikistan.
The western part of which is called RRS Hissar valley is the most densely populated part of the region consists of 7 districts including Tursunzade Shahrinau, Hissar, Varzob, Vahdat, Rudaki and Faizabad having more irrigated land for the production of various agricultural crops.

History of regions of Tajikistan:

In 1944, part of Kulyab and Stalin Abad was founded Qurghonteppa Oblast, and a year of part of the Leninabad – Ura-Tyube.
Since 1947 it began the process of eliminating areas. Then they were eliminated Kurgan-Tube and Ura-Tyube region, in 1951 – Stalinabad, 1955 – Garm and Kulyab and in 1962 – Leninabad region. Thus, the regional division of the Tajik Soviet Socialist Republic was abolished.
Since 1970, the region begin to rebuild. At the end of 1970 has been restored Leninabad province, after three years – Kulyab region, even after 3.5 years – Qurghonteppa Oblast.
In 1988, Kulyab and Kurgan-Tube region were united in the Khatlon region, but were again divided in three years.
In independent Tajikistan Khatlon Province, and in 2000 renamed Leninabad region in Sogd was restored in September 1992; the area became known as velayat.